What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

San Francisco: November 26-30

on December 10, 2009

Santa Ramen: 1944 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA

This is one of the best ramen I’ve ever had in my entire life, which explains the long line even before the restaurant opens on a weekday. The tonkotsu soup was flavorful and the ramen was a thick curly kind that I like. You also have the option of adding other items to your ramen for a small price. The braised beef and corn are must haves. The bill was also quite reasonable. My bowl of ramen and the two additions cost approximately $15. You should either go early or late to avoid the line.

Tonkatsu Ramen

Ghirardelli @ Ghirardelli Square

This ice cream shop is amazing! I don’t normally like chocolate or ice cream for that matter, but the melted chocolate in the sundae is pure decadence. The classic sundae, warm brownie sundae and the gold rush are all items on the menu you must try. Anything with melted Ghirardelli chocolate is guaranteed to satisfy. If there was one in Boston, I’d be fat and happy.

Ghirardelli Shop Front

Chocolate Production Process

Chocolate Production Process

Classic Sundae

Com Tam Dat Thanh:

Com Tam Dat Thanh is known for its broken rice dishes. The portions are large for a reasonable price in the SF area. If you think about it though, it should be less expensive anyway. The cost of buying broken grain is cheaper to begin with. The combo that I got was about $12 and included shrimp cake, shrimp paste on a sugarcane, barbeque chicken, pickled shredded pork & pork skin, and egg & pork cake. My favorite was definitely the shrimp cake though. It’s hard to find a broken rice place in Boston, so overall I appreciated it. My one complaint is that the dish was a bit too salty for me.

Com Dam Dat Thanh

Broken Rice Large Combo

The Stinking Rose @ 325 Columbus Avenue

Do you know what a stinking rose is? It’s garlic! This place is famous for their garlic dishes. My favorite is an appetizer called Bagna Calda, which is just a hot pan of roasted garlic in oil. It sounds plain, but somehow despite the simplicity, this starter is addictive. I can get full just eating it with bread. Beware though, you might be emanating garlic for days from your breath down to your skin. I would avoid anything on the menu that doesn’t have garlic in the description.

Garlic Monster

Bagna Calda

John’s Snack & Deli @ 40 Battery Street

I had a simple kimchi bibimbab burrito for lunch. I never knew the marriage of a Mexican burrito and Korean kimchi could get along so well. It was surprisingly good, perhaps due to the fact that I had low expectations since it sounded just plain weird to me. Inside the burrito was rice, carrots, kimchi, sauteed beef, tomatoes and an egg. The egg was a very nice touch :)

Kimchi Bibimbab Burrito

Belly Good Crepes @ Japantown


I went to Japan Town to try Sophie’s Crepes. Unfortunately, it was closed for the day. I had to settle for Belly Good Crepes. The fruits were relatively fresh,. The whip cream I could taste was definitely from a can. Okay, I lied, I saw them spray it on. One thing that caught my eyes was the crazy cute presentation. Depending on whether you want it rolled up in a cone to go or on a plate for the table, you get a different face!

Strawberry Banana Vanilla Ice Cream Crepe

Strawberry Banana Nutella Crepe

That Takes the Cake @ 2271 Union Street

This place specializes in home-made cupcakes. The price is a little steep – $3 each. There is something special about this little shop though. On Saturday nights, they serve “special” cupcakes. By “special,” I mean it’s a cocktail in a cupcake. I definitely recommend going then. Although, their regular cupcakes are also extremely popular. I dropped by at around 5:00pm  and there were barely any left. I ended up ordering the red velvet, which you can’t go wrong with. It was moist and yummy. The guy who works there is really nice too. He gave me free doggie treats!

That Takes the Cake Shop Front

Red Velvet Cupcake

I have no pictures from here, but A&J makes a to-die-for spicy beef noodle soup. I slurped up the entire bowl even though my throat was sore from being sick. It was painful, but worth it! Their other noodle soups, however, are forgettable.

– Charmin Bear T

Leave a Reply

