What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Washington D.C.: January 8-10

on January 15, 2010

Blue Moon Cafe @ 1621 Aliceanna St. Baltimore, MD

My Mandarin “Fudao” or tutor from Bei Wai has been a visiting student at UC Berkeley for a year. Before she leaves America, she wanted to visit Washington DC. One of my friends, Connor had kindly offered his place for us to stay and to be the tour guide for the weekend. When we arrived in Baltimore on Friday morning, we had breakfast at the Blue Moon Cafe. This restaurant is famous for their Cap’n Crunch French Toast..need I say more? Whipped cream, fresh strawberries and blueberries are stacked on top of 2 thick pieces of mouth watering French toast.

Cap'n Crunch French Toast

Cap'n Crunch French Toast

Whenever I head out for breakfast, I usually look for Eggs Benedict on the menu because I love poached eggs. Naturally, I ordered the Crab and Canadian Ham Eggs Benedict with side of home fries. The hollandaise sauce was creamy and the eggs were poached perfectly. I was disappointed in the side of home fries. It was overly fried and bland. Overall, we had a 15 minute wait time and we sat near the door. It kept opening and closing, letting in the cold winter chill along with it. Service was ok since our server could have been more attentive. For a small 10 table cafe, the servers looked busier than need be.

Crab and Canadian Ham Eggs Benedict

Crab and Canadian Ham Eggs Benedict

Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean Grill @ 7220-C Columbia Pike Annandale, VA
For dinner, Connor drove us to the best Korean bbq he knew. The wait was about 45 minutes and well worth it. One of their more popular meat dish is the fresh pork belly, so we had to try it. We ordered a plate of beef short ribs and jap chae noodles as well. Once the meat started to grill, the aromas tickled our noses. Servers were fast and attentive as they came quickly with the standard appetizers and beer. With Korean bbq, I usually spread duenjiang paste (fermented soybean) over a grilled piece of meat and eat it with lettuce over rice. Simple yet so good with every bite. The pork belly was grilled to perfection as the servers took care of the grilling for us. It was so good, Connor wanted to order a second round. I’m just disappointed I didn’t take enough pictures of our meal!

Honey Pig BBQ

Honey Pig BBQ

La Tasca @ 722 7th Street NW Washington, DC
Located in Chinatown, La Tasca specialize in tapas. I was introduced to my first tapas dinner experience in DC and I’ve been hooked since! We ordered a sampling menu that came with eight different dishes. Pictures below are courtesy of Josh Seo since I didn’t have my camera.

Tapas #1: Pollo al Ajillo – Bone-in chicken roasted in a garlic sauce. Delicious. I called the chicken leg! Meat wasn’t dry at all.

Pollo al Ajillo

Pollo al Ajillo

Tapas #2: Chuletitas de Cordero – Grilled lamb chops in a peppercorn sauce. I’m not usually a big fan of lamb, but I had to try it since there was a creamy peppercorn sauce.

Chuletitas de Cordero

Chuletitas de Cordero

Tapas #3: Ensalada Manzana – Apple slices with tetilla cheese and quince. This dish was ok. To me, it’s just apples and cheese, nothing spectacular.

Ensalada Manzana

Ensalada Manzana

Tapas #4: Esparragos – Grilled fresh asparagus and sea salt. Yummy! It’s was grilled just right as the asparagus was still crunchy. Even though it was a simple dish, I would order it again since it was done right.

Esparragos

Esparragos

Tapas #5: Solomillo de Buey – Grilled beef tenderloin and blue cheese. I love beef of all cuts, but I hate the taste and smell of blue cheese. For the dish itself, it was a good match. The beef was not over cooked and was very tender.

Solomillo de Buey

Solomillo de Buey

Tapas #6: Patatas Bravas – Deep fried potatoes with a spicy sauce. This dish was bland. Spicy sauce was mild. Potatoes wasn’t even that flavorful. To me, this wasn’t anything amazing for my palette.

Patatas Bravas

Patatas Bravas

Tapas #7: Gambas al Ajillo Shrimp – Sautéed in olive oil and garlic. By far the most flavorful dish, probably because it was bathing in a skillet of olive oil :) I appreciate those who takes their time to de-vein and de-shell shrimps. It makes my dining experience that much better.

Gambas al Ajillo Shrimp

Gambas al Ajillo Shrimp

Tapas #8: Salmon a la Plancha – Grilled salmon, spinach and fried mussels. Presentation wasn’t so pretty. The spinach leaves hid the beautifully grilled salmon, but it was nonetheless tasty. The fried mussels added a different texture to the dish as well.

Salmon a la Plancha

Salmon a la Plancha

Overall, I would choose another tapas place to try next time. Their dishes were a hit or miss for the amount and price. Servers were not as attentive because we had to ask them to refill our water glasses. However, the restaurant’s decor was fitting for what they served.

– Charmin Bear J

One response to “Washington D.C.: January 8-10

  1. Josh says:

    Good post. Can’t believe you actually memorized what you ordered and what you remember from the restaurants. Kudos.

    If you’d like, there are other great tapas in DC area. I’ve tried a mediterrian/greek tapa not too far from Chinatown and also very tasty.

Leave a Reply

