What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: March Madness

on March 25, 2010

I have been on my best behavior and have stayed put in Boston. This entire post will be devoted to Boston restaurants, mostly sushi :)

Bamboo Thai @ 1616 Commonwealth Avenue

First off, I would like to warn you that the website’s intro music is extremely loud. If you’re going to click on the link, remember to lower the volume! Onto the food! I have semi annual dates with one of my high school friends who likes to try new Asian restaurants. This place is relatively spacious and has a decent ambience, nothing too out of the ordinary. The service, however, is better than I expected. The waitress was extremely attentive and helpful. She came back to check on us often and when she saw that I hadn’t touched my food she was worried I didn’t like it. On the contrary, I didn’t touch mine because I ate most of my friend’s since she wasn’t that hungry. She had ordered the Drunken Noodles, which is actually what I originally wanted. I ended up picking the Pad See Ew, a pretty safe dish to get at any Thai restaurant. The noodles were soft, chewy and fat – the way I like it! The Drunken Noodles were just right in spiciness for me. The sauce had a little sweet taste to it, which made it more savory. The thai iced tea was also really good. The little details they put into small things were kind of impressive. I didn’t notice immediately but the straw cover on my thai iced tea was folded into a rose! It was cute. Unfortunately, I only ended up taking a picture of the drunken noodles :T Beware though, it’s not your average cheap Thai food.

Drunken Noodles

Fin’s @ 354 Chestnut Hill Avenue

It is safe to click on their site; your ears won’t suffer :). I came here because one of my sorority sisters works here and she gets 25% off. Who can turn that down?! I like Fin’s but I wouldn’t say it  is my favorite sushi place. They attempt to be creative with their maki rolls and come a little short of above average. The fish is fresh enough and the price is reasonable. There is one dish that I really enjoyed – the Sake Hana. It’s a really pretty dish and honestly, who doesn’t love salmon. I also ordered the Eastern Maki, which uses a rice nori wrap instead of traditional seaweed.  It felt like I was eating sushi posing as a spring roll. The Fire Maki was forgettable, a little too heavy for me. The Dragon Maki at Fugakyu is better because I like the sweet potato center.  All in all, nothing too memorable besides the Sake Hana. I would come again because of the 25% off :D. The pictures below were taken at two separate times, so there are some repeats.

Sake Hana

 

Fire Maki, Spicy Salmon Maki, Dragon Maki

Spicy Salmon Maki, Eastern Maki (middle)

 

Boston maki, Fire Maki

Fish Market @ 170 Brighton Avenue

Not to be bias or anything, but the two sushi chefs here used to work at Oishii in Chestnut Hill. Oishii is by far my favorite sushi bar in the Greater Boston area. Unfortunately, getting there requires a car and I no longer have one. So the next best thing is Fish Market. You can taste the freshness in all their ingredients and the price is beyond reasonable compared to Oishii. My only complaint about this restaurant is that on Friday and Saturday nights, they are insanely busy. One time my take out order took 1.5 hours! The waitstaff and sushi chefs are extremely nice, so it’s quite hard to get mad at them. So here are the things I love eating at this place. I love the Sashimi Salad, especially the dressing. The portions of fish they give you are quite generous. I also really like the Seared Yellowtail Maki, slightly seared fish is the way to my heart. The Miso Black Cod is savory and full of flavor. You could probably just eat this appetizer with a bowl of rice and be satisfied. The seaweed salad is a little bit too salty for my taste though. Everything else is good if not slightly above average. I must’ve been too excited when I got my Seared Yellowtail Maki though, because I forgot to take a picture of it! I eat here at least once a week :X

Miso Black Cod Appetizer

Spicy Salmon with Avocado, Soft Shell Crab Maki, Spicy Crispy Tuna Maki, Yaki Udon

Sunset Grill & Tap @ 130 Brighton Avenue

I decided to go grab a drink with some friends right down the street from Fish Market. Sunset Grill & Tap has a wide range of beers, which easily overwhelms newcomers. Luckily they have samplers for you to try. We each ordered our own drink on top of the Fruit Loops sampler. My Frozen Mango Margarita was pretty weak but delicious. If you’re looking for an easy drink that tastes good, I highly recommend this one. My favorite beer in the Fruit Loop sampler was hands down the Raspberry Framboise. It was sweet and tasted more like juice than beer. It’s only good in small doses though. You get sick of the sweetness quickly. I prefer the peach version. My least favorite was the Sam Adam’s Cherry; it’s too bitter for me. This is definitely a fun place to hang out after hours. Their food isn’t  bad either :)

 

Tropical Sunrise, House Margarita

 

Champagne Breeze, Frozen Mango Margarita

Fruit Loop Fest (Left to Right): Ipswich Blueberry, Lindeman Framboise Raspberry, Dogfish Fort Blueberry, Sam Adam's Cherry

– Charmin Bear T

Leave a Reply

