What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: May Marathon

on June 10, 2010

Fish Market @ 170 Brighton Avenue

I eat at Fish Market basically every week now. It’s pretty addictive. It also doesn’t help that I live less than 10 minutes away by car. So here I am, writing about it again :T

If you’re going for something light and relatively healthy, you have to try the Sashimi Salad! The special salad dressing they use is sweet and very appetizing. It just makes you crave more and more. On top of that, they give you very generous portions of fish. Most other places would give you more greens or other accessories to fill you.

Sashimi Salad

Sashimi Salad

I convinced myself that I needed a change from my usual choices, so I decided to try the Crazy Eggplant Maki. I had my reservations about this one, but it turned out to be really yummy. The texture was soft, definitely not too mushy like baby food. The shredded sweet potato added a crunchiness. It seems like a pretty healthy maki to get. The Alligator Maki and the Spicy Salmon Maki with Avocado was both really good also. I’m a huge avocado fan so I like it in almost all my sushi.

Fish Market - Maki

Crazy Eggplant Maki, Alligator Maki, Spicy Salmon & Avocado Maki

Here’s the Seared Yellowtail Maki I was raving about in my last Fish Market post. Out of all the seared makis they offer, this one shines the most!

Seared Yellowtail Maki

Seared Yellowtail Maki

I also highly recommend the Tako Salad Maki. It’s basically a spicy seafood salad with squid on top of a cucumber avocado maki. It looks similar to the Baked Spicy Scallop Maki, but it’s cold and waiting time is much faster for this one. The octopus adds a chewier texture compared to the scallop.

Tako Salad Maki

Tako Salad Maki

I was not a huge fan of the Seared Tuna or Salmon Makis. I didn’t like the tabasco sauce used in the Tuna and I felt the mixture of ingredients for the Salmon didn’t blend well. I did like the Yellowtail Truffle Maki, but not one of my favorites that I would order when I’m eating by myself.

Fish Market - Maki02

Alligator Maki, Yellowtail Truffle Maki, Seared Yellowtail Maki, Seared Salmon Maki, Seared Tuna Maki, Ikura Nigiri

Giacomo’s @ 431 Columbus Avenue

Alex always wants good Italian food when he comes back to Boston to visit, but it’s such a hassle to drive to the North End and find parking in the busy little Italian town. Luckily for us, Giacomo’s opened a second location in South End. It’s still pretty tough to find parking, but at least this one takes reservations and parking lot prices are cheaper.

We made our way here on a Thursday night right before the crowd. It’s best to make a reservation or else the wait could be up to 1.5 hours on a normal day. When we got there, we were shocked to find a sign that says “Cash Only,” so remember to go to the ATM first. Also, Giacomo’s is a really small cozy restaurant, so be prepared to share limited space.

We started off with a calamari appetizer. It looks like onion rings, doesn’t it? They did a decent job here. There wasn’t too much batter and it didn’t come off too oily. The squid had just the right level of chewiness for me.

Giacomo's - Calamari

Calamari

I went on to order Scallops with the Giacomo and Fra Diavolo sauce over penne. The Giacomo sauce is made with minced lobster, red sauce and bechamel. The Fra Diavolo adds an extra spicy kick to the pasta. This was really good, but I kept biting on something crunchy, which I assume was lobster shell.

Giacomo's - Scallops Penne

Scallops Penne

Alex ordered the Chicken Marsala and I took a bite out of it. I liked how the chicken was not dry at all and tasted like it was marinated in the marsala sauce for days. I wouldn’t mind ordering this next time.

Giacomo's - Chicken Marsala

Chicken Marsala

I have a sweet tooth, especially for tiramisu, so we ordered one for dessert. It was D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S! I don’t think I’ve had better. Alex was really full so I actually had to eat most of it myself. I loved the ratio of the ingredients in this one. I hate it when places use too much savoiardi, drench it in too much rum or when they don’t give me enough mascarpone cream. Luckily, it was just right here!

Giacomo's - Tiramisu

Tiramisu

Overall, I like this restaurant. I’m not sure if the main entrees are as amazing as it’s North End counterpart, but Giacomo’s definitely gives you a hearty portion for a reasonable price. I’d come again just for the tiramisu.

Parish Cafe @ 361 Boylston Street

Parish Cafe prides itself in taking popular menu items from other restaurants, making it themselves and sometimes charging more for it. It’s located on a parallel street to Newbury and offers outdoor seating, which is great when the weather is warm. They’re insanely popular and sometimes the wait for lunch is over an hour for a party greater than 2.

I came here on a warm Spring afternoon to meet up with a few friends to play catch up and have some yummy food. To start off the afternoon we ordered a pitcher of Peach Sangria. It was good, but nothing much to really rave about.

Parish Cafe - Peach Sangria

Peach Sangria

There are a few items on the menu that remain constant, but everything else changes as they select new items to copy. The sandwich I ordered might not be there in a few months, but that’s definitely not a loss. I got the Bond Herb Roasted Chicken Salad Sandwich. The description they had on the menu was “Roasted chicken breast mixed with sweet garlic aioli, roasted red onions, scallions, thyme and tarragon served on an Italian sub roll with sliced tomatoes and romaine and topped with crisp fried onions.” Sure sounds yummy doesn’t it? I was fooled! It was one of the blandest sandwiches I ever had in my life. All I tasted was chicken. I rather get something from Rebecca’s Cafe or Sebastian’s for half the price. The best part was the crisp fried onions, but there wasn’t enough of it to add flavor to my sandwich! The potato salad was good.

Parish Cafe - Bond Herb Roasted Chicken Salad

Bond Herb Roasted Chicken Salad

I heard the Zuni Roll, a turkey wrap, was amazing, but you used to be able to get it from Cottonwood, the original restaurant that created it, for cheaper. Right now Cottonwood is in the midst of searching for a new location, and I can wait until they do before I go grab myself a Zuni Roll. I don’t think I care to come back here again. Parish Cafe is just a tad bit overrated.

Over and out!

-Charmin Bear T

Leave a Reply

