What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: September 4 – 7

on September 4, 2010

Work has been getting pretty hectic so my blog posts have been quite delayed. Sorry, Charmin Bear J!

My boyfriend came to visit over the long weekend and, of course, I used this as an excuse to eat out every day. Unfortunately, my master plan failed and we didn’t get to go to all the places I wanted to go.  I did take him to Fish Market and that’s his favorite place :) I tried something new this time called the Avocado Ball. The name basically describes it all. It’s a bunch of sashimi cut into little cubes, soaked in wasabi sauce and covered with avocado slices to create a ball-like structure. It was yum!

Fish Market - Avocado Ball

Avocado Ball

Lucia Ristorante @ 415 Hanover Street

It was Brandon’s first time visiting Boston so I had to take him to the North End. I originally planned for us to eat at Giacomo’s. We got to the North End at around 5:00PM and the line already wrapped around the corner. It was ridiculous! So Brandon used his Urban Spoon program to pick a restaurant since we’re both indecisive. It brought us to Lucia. The place was huge, it had multiple floors. The restaurant was mostly empty and we were seated right away. This is extremely rare for North End restaurants. Our waitress was really nice and service was great. Food came out quickly and she was attentive.

I ordered the Cotoletta con Melanzane Parmigiana (translation: Chicken Eggplant Parmesan), a pretty basic Italian dish right? I didn’t really like it. My chicken was cut too thin before it was breaded. It didn’t taste tender at all. In fact, it was a bit rubbery. Other than that, the dish was okay.

Lucia - Chicken Eggplant Parmesan

Chicken Eggplant Parmesan

Brandon ordered the Lasagna alla Lucia (translation: Veal Lasagna). The pasta is supposedly made fresh daily from the restaurant. It was pretty good. Lucia’s most popular dishes are usually the veal ones. I think I still like Bianca’s lasagna better though and it’s much cheaper.

Lucia - Veal Lasagna

Veal Lasagna

Lucia’s website has a menu, but they seem to have removed the prices. That’s probably a smart move on their part. All their dishes are closer to the $20 range or more. If I knew that was the case, I would actually dragged Brandon to Limoncello, Taranta or even Fiore for a more special experience. I probably would not go to Lucia’s again considering how many better options there are in the North End for that price.

Brandon and I went to various other places, but I didn’t take pictures for all of them. I had wanted to take him to Mr. Bartley’s for some hearty burgers, but there just wasn’t enough time to do everything! Next time, I’ll be better prepared. :)

– Charmin Bear T

Leave a Reply

