What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: October 20 – 31

on November 1, 2010
Hello again!

I’ve been to a few more random places that I’d like to introduce you guys (our imaginary readers) to or maybe steer you away from.

Giacomo’s @ 355 Hanover Street

Giacomo’s was an extremely small and busy restaurant. The first time I tried to come here with my boyfriend the line was down the block and around the corner. I came with a few coworkers this time right after we got off and rushed over there. Lucky us! We got the last table. I was laughing and saying “suckersssss” to everyone outside waiting still :). JK. Not really.  It was so cramped inside. There were people hovering over our table and intruding in our space constantly, but the food was well worth it.

Fried Calamari appetizer – get a small and share. This stuff was good but gotta save room for the main entree!

Giacomo's - Fried Calamari

Fried Calamari

Lobster Ravioli was so reasonably priced and still tasted amazing. You don’t have to compromise your wallet for good food.
Giacomo's - Lobster Ravioli

Lobster Ravioli

Pumpkin Tortellini was a bit sweet for my taste, but everyone else at the table enjoyed it.
Giacomo's - Pumpkin Tortellini

Pumpkin Tortellini

Butternut Squash Ravioli was delicious. It’s soaked in a very yummy sauce and the filling was not as sweet as the pumpkin, which fits better for my palette. Sauce makes my world turn :)
Giacomo's - Butternut Squash Ravioli

Butternut Squash Ravioli

Chicken Parmesan was not bad, but you should probably try their specialties if you come here. You can get Chicken Parmesan at any other Italian restaurant.
Giacomo's - Chicken Parmesan

Chicken Parmesan

So, if you’re in the Boston area and would like Italian food, I highly recommend going to Giacomo’s. If you’re going to the North End location, be sure to go early though. And don’t expect to sit comfortably and dilly dally. Everything happens very fast in that restaurant. We were in and out in 45 minutes. I’ve also eaten at the Giacomo’s in Back Bay. I can’t really tell the difference between the two restaurants, so it might be smarter to go there since they take reservations. Oh CASH ONLY!

Flour Bakery @ 12 Farnsworth Street

Flour is a very cute little shop that has been featured on the food network. Apparently owner, Joanne Chang, beat Bobby Flay in a sticky bun throw down. But hey, it can’t be that hard for another seasoned pastry chef to beat the man in a baking competition. Flay is known for heat not sweet afterall.

For lunch, I got the Roasted Chicken Sandwich. The chicken in the sandwich kind of looked like “cha siu.” It was really moist and flavorful chicken. I liked the avocado and jicama, which gave me the feeling that I was eating healthy.

Flour - Roast Chicken 2

Roasted Chicken

The Curried Tuna Sandwich was interesting. I don’t know if that’s good or bad. I don’t think it was anything particularly special, but I’m not a huge cooked fish fan. You might wonder why this Curried Tuna is grilled and not the Roasted Chicken. It’s simple. The sandwich itself cost about $8.50, which is about $2 more than an average sandwich around the area. Instead of just doing it for you out of courtesy or the mere fact that it tastes better, they charge you an extra $0.50 if you want them to put it on the grill. A bit petty of them, don’t you think? So I opted to keep my two quarters and grill it myself later.

Flour - Curried Tuna

Curried Tuna

Now, lets talk about the pastries. OH SO DISAPPOINTING. For a bakery that says “Make Life Sweeter! Eat Dessert First!” I expected their baked goods to be amazing. The sticky bun that everyone raves about was good, but too heavy and started to make me sick after awhile. I shared it, I did not eat all these things in one sitting. It kind of just tasted like a cinnamon roll with a lot of caramel syrup over the top sprinkled with pecans. The top was pretty good but the bottom got pretty bland. I also got a cookie for a pretty steep price. I learnt my lesson. If I want cookies, I’ll stick to Paradise Cafe. The chocolate chip I got from Flour was baked thin and hard. I like mine soft and chewy.

Flour - Sticky Bun

Sticky Bun

I think that Flour is a good bakery, but it’s not as magnificent as others have made it out to be. Perhaps the hype made my expectations unfairly high, but for the prices they charge, it definitely left a lot to desire. Taste was only slightly above average and presentation was mediocre. My coworker also got the Banana Bread, Boston Cream Pie Cake & a Chocolate Cupcake from Flour. She said the cupcake was dry, which is a huge no-no for me! The cakes also weren’t anything spectacular. Their prices just make them seem snobby in my opinion. Just pass on this, save your money and go somewhere else.

Sam La Grassa’s @ 44 Province Street

Sam’s is only open for lunch on weekdays and it is packed everyday. If you go during the lunch rush, you’ll probably find yourself around the corner waiting for your turn to place an order. I always call in first now :). Sam La Grassa’s has probably the sexiest sandwiches you’ll ever see. Yes, I said sexy. It’s just super luscious looking with its melty cheese and chock full of meat. Mmmm, food ecstasy. They are very generous with their portions and  your food is always served piping hot. Order anything with pastrami in it and you’re probably going to be a very happy fat kid with some future health issues. I didn’t really like their Chicken & Veggie sandwich. They’re a little pricey, about $10 for a sandwich, but I always get two meals out of it :T Oh, they also make steak fries. Yum!

Sam LaGrassa - Cuban

Cuban Sandwich

Sam LaGrassa - Chicken Veg Wrap

Chicken Vegetable Wrap

Sam LaGrassa - Turkey Ham & Swiss

Turkey Ham & Swiss

Cafe Japonaise @ 1032 Commonwealth Avenue

It’s a two floor cafe located after Boston University’s long campus on Commonwealth Avenue. It’s really a hot spot for people to study at. Their main attraction for me? Ah! Their pastries are mmm mmm delicious! It’s worth the premium they charge. Everything else is not. First of all, bring cash to this place, if not, they will charge you a credit card fee that seems to change every time I go.

The coffee and bubble tea is only okay, but a large hot drink that’s smaller than Starbucks will cost you more than the coffee chain. The ice drinks are probably more worth your money, but $5 something for a large ice caramel latte with bubbles is kind of steep, even worse than Lollicup.

Japonaise Cafe - Caramel Latte

Caramel Latte with Boba

I also tried a Turkey Avocado Fig Sandwich after reading the reviews that recommended it. They aren’t very generous with what they give you (I know, tough economy). I also unwittingly ordered it with the rustic bread which was harder than a rock. That was probably a little my fault.

Japonaise Cafe - Turkey Avo Fig

Turkey Avocado Fig Sandwich

I actually don’t really understand how people study there. The lighting is extremely bad. I tried studying there a few times and always ended up leaving with a headache. There’s another reason I don’t like the cafe; the bathroom is quite disgusting. It has this awful smell and the toilet itself looks really dirty. I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but I personally believe that you can tell how “clean” a restaurant is by its presentation, especially the bathroom. But definitely go by to pick up some pastries though!

That’s it for October. Next up, November in Hawaii!

– Charmin Bear T

One response to “Boston: October 20 – 31

  1. Mars says:

    i’m hungry for boston food…

Leave a Reply

