What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: November 17

on November 18, 2010

Mr. Bartley’s Burger Cottage @ 1246 Massachusetts Avenue

Yay! My bestfriend was back from Japan for a visit. We decided to go to Mr. Bartley’s Burger Cottage since at the time I’ve been craving burgers for weeks. Mr. Bartley is located in Harvard Square across from Harvard Yard. I’d say it’s less than a 10  minute walk from the train station. We went for lunch so there was no line and plenty of space for us. For some odd reason though, the hostess decided to sit us next to these two big men and we basically cornered them in. They had to go through us if they wanted to leave or go to the bathroom. The place looks like a pretty dingy diner and seems like it would be pretty loud around dinner time. They have lots of old artwork up on the walls. It has a historic feel to it, which I really liked.

After we sat down, I immediately made my way through the  menu. The burgers are all named after current politicians, huge trends or famous local people, such as “The Tom Brady,” “The Barack Obama,” “The Tea Party,” The Facebook” and so forth.  I ordered “The Mayor Mumbles Menino,” which is their gourmet burger topped with a fried egg, cheese and bacon. I replaced the regular fries with sweet potato fries. The patty itself was okay, nothing particularly special. I felt like I could use more egg or bacon. I, however, loved the sweet potato fries. They were cut the perfect size for me. Other places like Sunset Grill prepare it shoestring style, which I hate. I like to be able to taste the potato! My friend ordered the onion rings, which were mediocre. He kept stealing my sweet potato fries instead.

Mr. Bartley's - The Mayor Mumbles Menino

The Mayor Mumbles Menino

I hear the lime rickeys are good, but didn’t order any. I like my water or coffee. If you venture out here, be sure to bring cash, they don’t take credit cards. I’d recommend visiting just to get the fries.

– Charmin Bear T

Leave a Reply

