What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

New York City: Special Occasions

on February 16, 2011

Club A Steakhouse @ 240 E 58th St. (between 3rd Ave & 2nd Ave)

Overall, the service was great. We were offered a complimentary glass of wine at the end of our dinner. Decorations were beautiful. Red/black/velvet. Lighting was very dim and romantic. Even the light fixtures matched their decor. There was an offer on Yelp for $80 for a four course dinner menu with wine for 2 people. Of course, I purchased it for a future return. Can’t wait!

A Club Steakhouse - Prime Dry Aged Rib Eye

A Club Steakhouse - Prime Dry Aged Rib Eye

Prime Dry Aged Rib Eye 24 oz $54.
Pricey for a huge slab of meat. My boyfriend ate the whole thing =X I guess it was just that good. Even the couple next to us was shocked to how much meat he ate.

A Club Steakhouse - Filet Mignon

A Club Steakhouse - Filet Mignon

Filet Mignon 16 oz $42
Also very pricey. I could only eat half. I saved the rest for my dog. It was new years! She enjoyed it for her late night dinner. The steak was not really seasoned. We dipped it with their Club A Steak sauce. It looked and tasted like ketchup. I prefer A1 with my steak but they didn’t carry it.

A Club Steakhouse - Chocolate Mousse Cake

A Club Steakhouse - Chocolate Mousse Cake

This Chocolate Mousse Cake was very moist. The chocolate mousse was not overly sweet. Fantastic dessert, especially with the chocolate crunchies bits.

Sides: Garlic Herb Fries, Grilled Asparagus, and Mac and Cheese (3 for $24)
Fries are not pictured, but they’re the skinny kind with garlic salt and dried herbs. Yummy :D The grilled asparagus were ok. I could make it better. Maybe needed a tad more butter. The mac and cheese was definitely delish. I would order this app again. Creamy, cheesy, homey..just the way mac and cheese is suppose to be.

Qi Restaurant @ 31 W 14th St (between 5th Ave & Avenue Of The Americas)

Overall, the service was good. We were seated properly and our water glasses were filled when empty. The place itself was beautiful. Hanging from the ceilings were the old Hong Kong style boats. On the way to the bathroom, there are huge Thai goddess statues in dancing poses enclosed in glass. The cons: the one bathroom was too dark. I couldn’t find the sink handles because they were hidden underneath the ledge. It had beautiful decor inside. The sink itself looked like a big pottery with a faucet that almost resembled a waterfall. There was a statue of just a head above the sink. I don’t particularly like having something stare at me while I’m doing my business. The tables and chairs reminded me of the decor at Cafetasia. Benches, to be exact. No room to hang our jackets or to lean back. The place had a mix of casual elegance that I liked, but also had its shortcomings. I will return if I can!

QI - Tom Yum Soup

QI - Tom Yum Soup

This lemongrass tom yum soup is savory and sour. It is cooked with lemongrass, mushrooms, kaffir lime leaves, chili, lime juice, and chicken. Of all the tom yum soup I’ve ordered in NY, this one is on the dot in terms of flavor. I even ate some of the mushrooms, even though I hate mushrooms.

Qi - Herbal Coconut Calamari

Qi - Herbal Coconut Calamari

Herbal Coconut Calamari is super addictive. The crispy calamari has hints of toasted ground cumin, coriander-crust and roasted coconut flakes. Served with a very good sweet chili sauce that we couldn’t get enough of. A definite re-order when I go back.

Qi - Five Spices Honey Glazed Ribs

Qi - Five Spices Honey Glazed Ribs

Chinese five spice is a mixture of spices made up of star anise, cloves, Chinese cinnamon, Sichuan pepper, and ground fennel seeds. These honey glazed ribs are also tossed with coriander seeds and ginger. Sweet, spicy, and sticky. Make sure you wash your hands before you eat these. You will want to lick your fingers.

Qi - Drinks

Qi - Drinks

Immortal + Lychee Martini. Can’t go wrong with martinis.

Qi - Ginkgo Rib Eye Steak

Qi - Ginkgo Rib Eye Steak

My boyfriend ordered a Ginkgo Rib-Eye Steak With Massaman Ginger Cream Sauce. The sauce has a mixture of Southeast Asian spices and herbs blended in chili paste with potatoes and coconut milk. I tried a piece of steak and its accompanying sauce. I was indifferent about the taste. When I think of anything with coconut milk, I think of curry. I don’t usually eat beef with coconut milk.

Qi - Krachai Chilean Sea Bass

Qi - Krachai Chilean Sea Bass

This dish is not on the menu online. The chilean sea bass was cooked perfectly. Flaked off the chopstick. It had a topping of krachai (ginger root), string beans, eggplants, green peppers and spices. The flavors goes well with rice and you get a hint of spiciness afterwards. The string beans were chopped small and one of the highlights in the dish. I must order this fish again.

Qi - Rice

Qi - Rice

Aww, how cute! Rice shaped as hearts for Valentine’s Day. I had to take a picture of it. The rice was not soggy, but cooked properly. Authentic jasmine rice with an authentic Asian inspired meal.

– Charmin Bear J

Leave a Reply

