What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Annandale, Virginia: March 25

on April 13, 2011

Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean Grill @ 7220 Columbia Pike Ste C

I remember my friends Connor and Josh bringing me here to Honey Pig on my first trip to DC/Metro area. I didn’t get a chance to take alot of pictures last time, but I knew that I had to return to this awesome place with a camera ready! This time around, we had like 12 people gathered. Beware of a long long wait time. We waited for a table for more than an hour. It’s a very popular Korean BBQ restaurant! I even contemplated buying a Honey Pig t-shirt as I waited. With a hungry belly and chopsticks ready, our meal was completed with bottles and bottles of soju. From the steamed eggs to the staple kimchi dish, there were so many side dishes (banchan) I couldn’t keep track! Service wasn’t too bad. They are probably use to catering to loud, crazy and drunk guests.

Honey Pig - Soondubu Jjigae

Honey Pig - Soondubu Jjigae

To my surprise, the Soondubu Jiigae was spicy! I love how it had alot of broth, vermicelli noodles, pork belly, kimchi, and tofu! We didn’t get to finish the soup, so that went out in a doggie bag.

Honey Pig - Marinated Beef

Honey Pig - Marinated Beef

Oh, the marinated kalbi, it’s the must order dish at any Korean BBQ joint. Beef was cut to a good size and marinade was good. You really can’t go wrong with a quality cut piece of meat and a grill in front of you.

Honey Pig - Spicy Pork Belly

Honey Pig - Spicy Pork Belly

What they are known for here is their marinated pork belly. Absolutely delicious! Not overly spicy or salty. Pork belly wasn’t too thin or too thick. The portion size and length of each strip was well above the amount I can normally eat. So it’s a great dish to share.

If I ever hit up DC again, I’m definitely going back to Honey Pig :)

– Charmin Bear J

Leave a Reply

