What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

D.C. Cupcakes Quest

on April 13, 2011

Georgetown Cupcakes @ 4834 Bethesda Avenue Bethesda, MD

With all this hype surrounding cupcakes – especially in DC, I knew I had to find out for myself how the cupcakes are. However, I am NOT willing to sacrifice 2-3 hours of my time, waiting for dinky little overpriced cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes. My friend Allison took me to their second location in Bethesda, Maryland instead. The store itself was small and very girly. Pinks, reds, white. Very clean. The variety of cupcakes on display was the main attraction for me. I was in awe to how pretty they were. We didn’t have to wait long, around 20 minutes and we were inside. Price-wise. Super expensive. $2.75 each | $15 half dozen | $29 dozen (I bought half a dozen. Crazy? Yes, I know!)

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

Georgetown Cupcakes

I’m using some of their descriptions on the website. It’s a beautiful website and it matches their brand. :)

Coconut
The vanilla cupcake had a vanilla cream cheese frosting capped with a cloud of shredded coconut. I love this cupcake! The frosting in general maybe really sweet for some, but I like the usage of coconut on the outside and inside. Coconut galore! I only wish the top was had toasted coconut instead.

Mint Chocolate Chip
This cupcake is made with Valrhona chocolate with a mint frosting topped with a chocolate crumbles. Valrhona is a french chocolate, similar in price range to Godiva. I had a lito bit of the frosting. Taste like mint, but I’m not a fan, but the cake itself was moist.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate
Their classic pb and chocolate cupcake also uses Valrhona chocolate and is baked with peanut butter chips. Topped with a peanut butter frosting and a chocolate ganache drizzle makes this a delicious treat to those who like the flavor combo pb and chocolate.

Vanilla
I believe if you can successfully make the classic vanilla cupcake, you’ve got something special! The classic madagascar bourbon vanilla cupcake has a vanilla cream cheese frosting on top with a pink fondant flower. I really liked this cupcake too. The cream cheese frosting had the perfect amount of sweetness and tartness.

Chocolate Ganache
This shiny ganached cupcake is to fight for! Soft, sweet and double chocolaty. It is a Valrhona chocolate cupcake with a thin layer of Callebaut chocolate ganache icing topped with a green fondant flower. Callebaut chocolate is made in Belgium, another expensive chocolate reserved for professional chocolatiers and consumers. No wonder why these cupcakes are expensive for its size :(

Red Velvet
Ah, saving the best for last. The classic red velvet cupcake here is absolutely a must-try. Super sweet! It has a vanilla cream cheese frosting topped with a red fondant heart. I remember eating this on my way home from a long night out.

When I went to see how long the wait time was for the original flagship store in Georgetown, the line wrapped around the block. Amazing what people are willing to do just for a small morsel of sweetness.

Baked and Wired @ 1052 Thomas Jefferson Street NW Washington, DC

Tucked away on a side street in Georgetown, one would never know that this place existed unless you saw people carrying bags or by word of mouth. Baked and Wired is a gem! I love how the place offers pastries, a lounge, specialty beverages, and a very relax vibe. No wonder why so many people lined up here. The price is even more expensive than Georgetown. I believe it was $3.25 each and they didn’t sell by the dozen. I still bought half a dozen to sample! I like to share :)

Baked and Wired

Baked and Wired

Baked and Wired - Hot Chocolate

Baked and Wired - Hot Chocolate

I actually had to pull out my charger since my phone died and they didn’t say anything as I stood there, sipping my delicious hot chocolate. Their whipped cream is made from scratch and had lito bits of chocolate bits sprinkled on top. It wasn’t too sweet or too bitter, perfect on a chilly afternoon.

Baked and Wired Cupcakes

Baked and Wired Cupcakes

Strawberry Cupcake
The bestseller there, so I had to get it! Vanilla cake with fresh strawberries folded in the batter finished with a swirl of pink buttercream. Absolutely understand why it was delicious. Cake was moist. Frosting was creamy. The best part was the fresh strawberries. My mouth is watering just thinking about this cupcake.

Mocha
Chocolate cake with a mocha buttercream. Very yummy as well. Can’t go wrong with double chocolates.

Carrot Cake
This moist carrot-flecked cake had an even balance of spices and crunchy pecans. No raisins. Their cream cheese frosting was sweet, tangy, and perfect for this cupcake. This was one of my favorites!

Coconut
The version here was not as delicious as Georgetown’s. It was a plain vanilla cupcake and vanilla buttercream topped with shredded coconut. Not enough coconut! It was overly sweet so I didn’t even eat alot of the frosting. Major disappointment here.

Red Velvet
A little chocolate, a little vanilla, and lots of deep red food coloring in the batter. This classic cupcake was topped with a heap of cream cheese frosting. This red velvet was moist and flavorful. A must try again!

Menage-a-trois
The name got my attention. I had to order this cupcake to see how good it was. This cupcake was one of my favorite! It is made with a chocolate cake with cream cheese icing and a raspberry filling. I love the raspberries addition to the cake, because it gave it a different texture and more moisture.

There was also another cupcake place I didn’t get to try. Sprinkles Cupcakes, the first cupcake bakery to be established in America. The line was at least an hour long. Next time when I visit DC, I’m going to Sprinkles first. Besides cupcakes, I went to DC to see the Cherry Blossoms Festival for the first time this year. I visited a week too soon because most of the buds were still white and not yet pink. However, it was still a beautiful sight, will all the cherry blossoms around the lake.

Cherry Blossom Festival

Cherry Blossom Festival

Cherry Blossom Festival

Cherry Blossom Festival

– Charmin Bear J

One response to “D.C. Cupcakes Quest

  1. allisonylu says:

    yo..those cupcakes look better in your pix than in real life hahah

Leave a Reply

