What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

New York: April Birthday Dinners

on May 4, 2011

Club A Steakhouse @ 240 E 58th St (Btwn 2nd & 3rd Ave)

I had purchased an $80 Yelp deal for Club A Steakhouse back in February. It was for an exclusive 4-course meal and a bottle of wine ($160 value). When we arrived, the owner greeted us promptly, but the host couldn’t find my deal on the checklist. It turned out that they pulled my Yelp id – “Charmin Bear J” for verification. LMAO. I had made a reservation for my boyfriend’s birthday ahead of time. After we were seated, the owner came over with 2 glasses of champagne for his birthday! How sweet :) We were served our water and quickly picked out our 4-course meal.

Club A Steakhouse - Fried Calamari

Club A Steakhouse - Fried Calamari

Fried calamari. Delicious. I love how there was a straining cloth on the lemon to catch the seeds. Very thoughtful! The calamari wasn’t overcooked and each one had a light crispy batter surrounding it. The marinara sauce wasn’t too thick or thin either. A very well-executed first course.

Club A Steakhouse - Sizzling Canadian Bacon

Club A Steakhouse - Sizzling Canadian Bacon

I had a couple pieces of this thick sliced bacon. Mouthwatering and meaty. You simply can’t go wrong with a piece of grilled bacon. They added their specialty BBQ sauce on the side for dipping.

Club A Steakhouse - Lobster Ravioli

Club A Steakhouse - Lobster Ravioli

The servers cleared our plates not a moment too late. Very attentive! They proceeded to put down steak knives, but then took them away! Another server came out with two plates of lobster raviolis. I wanted to order this dish the last time I was here. The server said it was on the house. Boy was I thrilled. ON THE HOUSE :) The sauce was a bit watery for my preference, but still flavorful. The asparagus and lobster meat were plentiful and by the time I was done with the 2 huge stuffed raviolis, I was in deep food coma :(

Club A Steakhouse - 10 oz Filet Mignon

Club A Steakhouse - 10 oz Filet Mignon

5 CHEESES TRUFFLE mac + WHIPPED YUKON POTATO PUREE. Must order both of these side dishes because they were probably the best choices to go with steak. The truffled oil infused into five different cheese and macaroni elevated this comfort dish. The potato was soft, creamy, delicate, and melted in your mouth. I found no potato chunks! The steak was of high quality. I ordered medium and had sent it back because it was too pink for me. Next time, I’m ordering medium well. I had 2 slices of steak and wrapped up the rest for Mochi and Milo. I cooked it well done for them when I got back to the apartment. They were begging for more!

Club A Steakhouse - Sauces Trio

Club A Steakhouse - Sauces Trio

Hollandaise (top), steak sauce (left), mushroom sauce (right). I asked for steak sauce and they gave us other selections. Dipped my steak in a lito bit of everything (minus the mushroom sauce). I actually still prefer A1 sauce for grilled meat.

Club A Steakhouse - Birthday Dessert Combo

Club A Steakhouse - Birthday Dessert Combo

Then everyone came out with a big plate of dessert, ice cream and candles. They even sang happy birthday to Kemal. muahhahaha. gotcha!
I tried a bit of everything. The carrot cake was delicious (my fav). The cream puffs were not that good because of the texture. The tiramisu was super soft and moist, just the way I remembered it. The cheesecake was over the top smooth and rich. Too bad we couldn’t eat it all :(

Overall, this place gets 5 stars for impeccable service, food, and dining experience. When they came back with the bill. It was only for tax. We gave them a well-deserved 20% tip. Around $20 to $30 total was spent that night. Can’t wait til my next venture over there.

Sea Thai Restaurant @ 114 North 6th Street, Brooklyn, NY

For our lovely sorority sister’s birthday dinner, we planned an outing to celebrate with Ana at this popular Thai restaurant in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Decor is beautiful. All the feng shui elements were there. There was a Buddha statue in the middle of the room with a wishing pond. My only gripe were the four bathrooms, situated in the front. They look like small huts, but it’s in almost everyone’s way because it was right next to the entrance and bar. The sink was outside the bathroom, in the middle. I guess it makes sense since there are many people who lives in huts in rural Thailand.

SEA - Chicken Wings

SEA - Chicken Wings

Since it was a big party, we could only choose from a limited part of their menu as part of the package deal. $35 for a drink, appetizer, main course and dessert. Let me tell you, these chicken wings were finger licking good. I don’t usually eat a plate of wings by myself, but these wings were tossed in a tamarind chili sauce that made it spicy, savory, and sweet. I was getting full by then. A must order!

SEA - Calamari

SEA - Calamari

My friend Grace ordered the crispy calamari with tomato salsa. Beware, it is not your average size appetizer bowl – it was a super sized bowl filled with scrumptious lightly fried and crispy calamari. The tomato salsa was very good. I would throw that sauce on some rice and meat if I could get my hands on the recipe.

SEA - Thai Iced Tea

SEA - Thai Iced Tea

Beverage of choice is almost always a Thai ice tea. This one had a perfect sweetness to it.

SEA - Pork Chops

SEA - Pork Chops

By the time the grilled pork chop with stir-fried seasonal vegetables came, I was stuffed! I cut up a few pieces for Grace to try. Marinated well and not over cooked. This dish was packed to go for lunch the next day. It was delicious with Jasmine rice.

SEA - Pad Thai

SEA - Pad Thai

Grace ordered the pad thai. Great texture, good flavor. I don’t usually order pad thai, but I’d order this dish next time. I think it’s just easier to eat instead of the pork chop and rice, especially when there is barely any light to see what you’re eating.

SEA - Green Tea Cheesecake

Green Tea Cheesecake

Some of Ana’s other friends had purchased a cake from elsewhere so I had a slice of that. When the green tea cheesecake came to the table, I was sooo full. I had a small forkful, just to try…it was indeed too sweet! Not sure if I like that green tea flavor in cheesecake. I probably wouldn’t order this cheesecake again. Green tea mochi FTW!

In the end, SEA provided a great atmosphere for our birthday celebration. Service was good, food was super yummy, and as far as prices, you pay for what you get – glorified Thai food. There were a few hidden gems that I’m salivating over just thinking about it.

– Charmin Bear J

One response to “New York: April Birthday Dinners

  1. Enchante says:

    you know whose else bday in April! cough * cough* !lol

Leave a Reply

