What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston Catchup: April 22-23

on May 24, 2011

Myung Dong 1st Avenue @ 90-92 Harvard Ave., Allston

The unique name of this restaurant comes from a very popular street back in Seoul, South Korea. It’s one of the few dive bars in Boston with great music, fun decor, and friendly waitstaff. Whatever night you go, I bet there will be a packed house since there’s only 66 seats available. My only gripe is that you have to order food here. They have a range from simple apps to sizzling entrees, so don’t worry if you’re full from Shabu Zen Hot Pot ;) Charmin Bear T and I went to town on food and drinks on this crazy night. This was my second time here. I spent new years here a couple years back here with Charmin Bear T and Hanh. We even sat at the same table!

Myung Dong 1st Ave - 게살전 Mini Egg Pancakes

Myung Dong 1st Ave - 게살전 Mini Egg Pancakes

Mini egg pancakes were filled with crabstick and scallions; served with seasoned soy. I don’t think i would order this again. It was like eating an omelette and chasing it down with soju. Not my cup of tea, especially after a very full night already. We ordered this since it seemed to be the lightest appetizer on the menu. Flavor was kind of bland, definitely not a good combination with alcohol. The name of the dish mislead us to think it was related to the Chinese mini egg pancakes that we always get from vendor carts in C-Town :(

Myung Dong 1st Ave - 딸기 요구르트 Strawberry Yogurt Soju

Myung Dong 1st Ave - 딸기 요구르트 Strawberry Yogurt Soju

$19. Best price ever. Soju in New York City, K-town is overpriced at $30. We bought three pitchers. Teehee. Boyyy was I drunk by the end of the night. Charmin Bear T had to drive home for me. The one pictured is Strawberry yogurt soju (I like this flavor the most!). Forgot to take pictures of peach and pear soju, but you get the picture :) Easy to throw down shot after shot..until the soju really hits you.

Charmin Bears Reunite!

Charmin Bears Reunite!

We’re doing our FOB poses for old times sake.

Pikaichi @ 1 Brighton Ave, 88 Food Court

Pikaichi - Miso Ramen

Pikaichi - Miso Ramen

The old ramen place closed down and the space was purchased by the owner of Cafe Mami from Porter Square. Charmin Bear T had eaten here before, so it must be yummy if she is a repeat visitor! See her blog post for a more detailed review on other food choices. I ordered the Miso Ramen. I love how it comes with corn niblets already. I ordered a whole egg with it, a must with any ramen! At first, I thought the soup was bland. Towards the end, the flavors became more developed. Definitely a good recommendation if you want cheap eats.

Korean Garden @ 122 Harvard Ave, Allston 

Many years back, this restaurant use to be a Malaysian restaurant. I remembered their Hainan Chicken dish the most. Today, it’s a bustling Korean BBQ restaurant! So, it was a must try on this trip back.

Korean Garden Restaurant - Nak Ji Tukbokki

Korean Garden Restaurant - Nak Ji Tukbokki

Tukbokki are rice cakes, usually long and cylindrical or oval-shaped. Korean rice cakes dishes are usually tossed with a spicy/sweet red sauce with a choice of meat and an assortment of vegetables. This dish had sliced octopus in it. The rice cakes were good. They were cooked correctly, because I’ve had some before that were hard to chew. Sauce was on par. However, I’m not sure how I feel about octopus tentacles =X I prefer beef or chicken with tukbokki.

Korean Garden Restaurant - Kalbi Gui & Saeng Samgyupsal

Korean Garden Restaurant - Kalbi Gui & Saeng Samgyupsal

The amount of meat in one order was ridiculous! Maybe I have been spoiled by NYC K-Town BBQ restaurants, but to pay so much for so little is not good business practice. The broiled marinated beef short ribs was $23 and the fresh thick sliced pork belly was $19 a plate. Disappointing!

Korean Garden Restaurant - Hae Mool Japchae

Korean Garden Restaurant - Hae Mool Japchae

Japchae is a pretty staple Korean noodle dish. Relatively simple to make, but the flavor of the glass noodle should be seasoned just right. This dish had a combination of seafood and scallions, stir-fried vermicelli/glass noodles with vegetables and beef in a rich soy based sesame sauce. It was good. Lots of flavor! Good quantity.

Korean Garden Restaurant - Mul Naengmyeon

Korean Garden Restaurant - Mul Naengmyeon

Mul Naengmyeon is a special in its own way because it’s a bowl of noodles, served iced cold. Becca ordered this bowl of Korean cold thin buckwheat noodles in a beef broth. When it hit the table, it had shaved soup flavored ice on top. As it melted, the noodles was still kept cold. It was definitely an interesting flavor profile. I prefer a bowl of hot steamy noodles, but I guess it doesn’t hurt to try.

Mixx Frozen Yogurt @ 66 Brighton Ave, Boston (between Chester St & Fordham Rd)

Mixx Frozen Yogurt

Mixx Frozen Yogurt

Ok, I am a bit greedy when it comes to froyo. I picked three different flavors of yogurt, from lychee, peach to the regular flavor. Toppings ranged from strawberries, lychees, kiwis, mangoes, to my favorite mochi. I also threw in these tapioca balls that were filled with lychee and watermelon juices. They had a texture like large fish roe when it’s in your mouth. When it pops, a pleasant splash of juice oozes out. I don’t mind it! I like their way of pricing froyo – by weight! This do-it-yourself type of business could be bad for my belly expansion. I ate 12 ounces that night! :x

I had a blast with friends this weekend. We went back to MD 1st Ave again for more soju! :)

— Charmin Bear J

Leave a Reply

