What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

T’s Last Hurrahs in New York

on August 6, 2011

I’m not sure if I previously mentioned, I have moved to Los Angeles. I am now officially a California bear. Before I made the transformation though, I made a few trips to New York to visit friends and say my goodbyes to some of the best places I’ve eaten at. In the process, I’ve tried quite a few new places. On one trip, I stayed mostly with J, and she’s in charge of updating those… whenever she gets around to it.

Cocoron @ 61 Delancey Street

My college friend, Geoff, loves Japanese food, so I took him to quite a few of my regular haunts, but decided to try a new place, known for it’s focus on soba dishes.  Cocoron literally means “heart warmth,” so I guess you could translate that into “heart warming.”  It’s a very small hole-in-the-wall type of restaurant.  I almost missed it despite the bright orange door.

Cocoron - Front Door

Cocoron Front Door

The restaurant looks a bit ghetto on the outside, but once you walk in, it is a very cute restaurant.  Japanese people really pay attention to the small details.  Even their menu was super adorable, yet simple.

Cocoron - Menu

Menu

The Pork & Okara Croquette was good.  I love the crispiness on the outside.  It also didn’t feel too oily, which is quite difficult considering it was fried in oil.  I’m also bias towards potato products.

Cocoron - Pork & Okara Croquette

Pork & Okara Croquette

The Steamed Chicken Meatball was much more delicate in flavor.  In general though, Japanese people tend to have a subtler palette. I didn’t really care for the rice on the outside, since it added such an unnecessary texture in my humble opinion.

Cocoron - Steamed Chicken Meatball

Steamed Chicken Meatball

For my main dish, I ordered the Japanese Curry Soba with Chicken.  Poor choice on my part.  I normally find soba to be too light and bland.  I also am a huge Japanese curry fan.  I thought this would be the perfect solution, but it came out too salty.  So much for subtle palettes!  I didn’t even finish my small little bowl.

Cocoron - Japanese Curry Soba

Japanese Curry Soba

My friend ordered their Yuba Soba.  It was much better than mine, but it was a bit bland for him.  There’s really no medium ground here is there?  The soup came in a separate pitcher that he had to pour in.

Cocoron - Yuba Soba

Yuba Soba

I didn’t get to try their famous Annin Tofu, since we were heading to Lady M after.  Based purely on the things I’ve tried, I don’t really understand the hype about this restaurant.  Perhaps I just didn’t choose wisely, but I probably won’t feel the urge to come back.

Lady M @ 41 E 78th Street

After lunch, we made our way to Lady M, a dessert boutique that I was referred to by a friend.  I wanted to try the Green Tea Mousse Cake, but they were out.  I got to eventually eat a slice on my second trip with J, and it was quite underwhelming, but I’ll let her write about that.  Be warned, this is not a cheap place!

My friend order a cup of ice coffee, it was about $6 for a small glass.  I much rather get a Starbucks.  But then again, I’ve been paying 6.00€ for coffee in Italy.  Anyway, he said it was good, but I say get some SB instead!

Lady M - Coffee

Iced Coffee

Since there wasn’t much left when we got here.  I decided to go with a slice of their signature Mille Crêpe Cake.  It was delicious, especially fresh.  It’s a very simple idea.  It’s just layers of crêpes topped with this light creamy home-made custard.  I feel like I could eat an entire Mille Crêpe without feeling fat afterwards.

Lady M - Mille Crêpes

Mille Crêpes

My friend went with a slice of the Checkers, a chocolate and vanilla sponge cake with a layer of cream and dark chocolate ganache icing.  I’m no patisserie, so I am very amazed at how they managed to make the cake part so neatly checkered.  It was also really good and I would recommend trying this one as well.  I’m not a dark chocolate fan, but it’s not overpowering at all.

Lady M - Checkers

Checkers

I also purchased a Strawberry Shortcake to go.  I ate it back at J’s place and didn’t really like it.  It was just plain vanilla sponge cake with small layer of cream and some strawberries.  J and her roommate loved it though.  I have never been a Strawberry Shortcake fan, so my opinion may not be trustworthy.

Lady M - Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry Shortcake

I really liked Lady M, despite the pricey $6-$8 price per slice.  I brought J back on my next trip to New York and she went a little crazy.  We got to try the Green Tea Mousse Cake, Lemon Meringue and Strawberry Mille Feuille cake.  The only other new cake I would recommend is the Strawberry Mille Feuille.  It reminds me of the flakiness of a Napoleon.  The Mille Feuille is layers of pastry puff with vanilla sponge cake, cream custard and strawberries.  The thing about Lady M is that you have to get there hours before they close or there won’t be much left.  You can also order entire cakes to be picked up, but depending on size and what kind of cake, it can cost upwards of $60-$80.

Cha Chan Tang @ 45 Mott Street

This place didn’t get great reviews on Yelp.  I understand why, but seriously people, it’s a “cha chan tang” aka HK diner.  If you want great service, go to Jean-Georges or something!  On a side note, I went to Jean-Georges with J and they were exceptionally nice.  One of the waiters chased me down after I came back from the bathroom to pull my chair out for me.  It was quite a funny scene.  Anyway, I love Cha Chan Tang despite it’s not so rave reviews.  It really brought me back to HK and gave me authentic diner food.

The bubble tea was solid.  Boba was chewy and the milk tea was creamy.  Enough said!

Cha Chan Tang - Bubble Milk Tea

Bubble Milk Tea

I ordered the Baked Pork Cutlet with Macaroni.  This is one of my favorite diner dishes.  I love the tomato sauce!

Cha Chan Tang - Baked Pork Cutlet over Macaroni

Baked Pork Cutlet over Macaroni

The Baked Ham & Chicken over Spaghetti was also delicious.  I find the cream sauce to be heavier so I usually order tomato, but this is also one of my favorites.

Cha Chan Tang - Baked Ham and Chicken Spaghetti

Baked Ham & Chicken over Spaghetti

We also tried the Baked Minced Beef over Spaghetti.  It was flavorful and made you want more and more.  It kind of reminds me of spaghetti with meat sauce, but with a sweeter, more ketchupy taste.

Cha Chan Tang - Baked Minced Beef over Spaghetti

Baked Minced Beef over Spaghetti

I honestly couldn’t find much to complain about the food.  The service wasn’t great, but that’s because they were incredibly busy and… you know… they’re Chinese.  My friend had ordered the wrong drink, which was entirely her fault.  She then claimed they misunderstood her order.  Instead of making a fuss, they just gave her a new drink, which I thought was quite nice.  They seemed a bit unwilling, but they still did it.  I would love to come back or hope to find something similar in LA.  :(

I went to many more restaurants, such as Momofuku Ssam Bar, Jean-Georges, but J has all the pictures and will be responsible for that stuff!

This bear has to go explore Sevilla, Spain now.  Rolling out!

– Charmin Bear T

2 responses to “T’s Last Hurrahs in New York

  1. CBJ says:

    Lady M’s Mille Crepes was featured on Best Thing I Ever Ate “French” – the pastry chefs were Japanese! She took a long time making each crepe and layering/frosting them together. No wonder why it cost so much for a slice!

    – Charmin Bear J

  2. […] clip of busy streets and people of HK. Charmin Bear T already came here before she moved to LA. Her post is mainly on the entrees, which I have yet to try =X Cha Chan Tang – Green Milk Tea with […]

Leave a Reply

