What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: 5 Napkin Burger

on August 7, 2011

5 Napkin Burger @ 105 Huntington Avenue

Let me start off by telling you that this restaurant’s location is cursed. CURSED! It was once an Applebee’s, then Daily Grill. Restaurants here just never last long. I thought: Oh! A NY chain moved in! Maybe they’ll have some success. Well, probably not. A lot of it has to do with the quality of service here. The food is okay, nothing to rave about. The waitstaff are the real problem. If you read the Yelp reviews, there’s a slew of complaints all relating to rude service. The service then leads back to quality of food. I went here twice. The first time, I had a sarcastic annoying snotty man for a waiter who poked fun when I asked for fries as appetizers, “but they’re SIDES.” No sh*t Sherlock! I asked if you could bring it out as an appetizer for a reason, you jerk face. Anyway, lets talk food.

Creamed Spinach Side: Bland and cold (from first visit with the rude man).

5NB - Creamed Spinach

Creamed Spinach

Tuscan Fries: flavorless and soggy (1st visit).

5NB - Tuscan Fries

Tuscan Fries

Tater Tots: a lot of people say good things about this but my impressions was – giant balls of very buttery mashed potato deep-fried (1st visit).

5NB - Tater Tots

Tater Tots

Sweet potato fries: the sweet potato fries actually came out at the right time. It wasn’t soggy. Solid side (2nd visit).

5NB - Sweet Potato Fries

Sweet Potato Fries

I tried two sushi rolls on my second visit under the duress of my friend. Honestly, I’m not sure why there are sushi rolls in a Burger joint, but it’s probably their attempt to be trendy. Anyway, the Double Tuna roll is just spicy tuna and cucumber maki topped with tuna and avocado. It was not spicy at all. I barely tasted the mayo, I had to look to confirm it was there. For $14, go next door and get something from Haru, an actual sushi place. What was 5NB thinking, seriously?

5NB - Double Tuna

Double Tuna

The Spicy Salmon roll was worse. I mean, it wasn’t bad. Both were edible. It was just a sad attempt to be original by adding “crunchy rice” to the side. If anything, that crunchy rice just made the texture more annoying. I spent a good amount of time trying to pick off as much as possible. $13 for an avocado roll topped with salmon and some frustrating tiny rice crackers is just a waste of money. Actually, I’ll go as far as to say that this was an insult to sushi lovers like me. It’s not creative, it’s just plain stupid.

5NB - Spicy Salmon

Spicy Salmon

Bacon Cheddar Burger: “10 oz. fresh ground chuck, sharp cheddar, bacon, raw onion, lettuce & tomato, soft white roll.” That’s copied from their website. Nothing spectacular. My bf said it was okay.

5NB - Bacon Cheddar Burger

Bacon Cheddar Burger

Ahi Tuna Burger: The first time I ordered this, my tuna “patty” came out well done rather than medium rare like I asked for it to be. The waiter wasn’t helpful so I didn’t bother trying to get a new one. Second visit, it came out right and tasted much better. I liked the wasabi mayo. I don’t really care for the onion rings they placed on top. It made eating the burger more difficult. I can’t really write much about this since it was a slab of tuna steak with some decent sauce. My friends tell me you’re better off getting the Ahi sandwich at Parish Cafe.

5NB - Ahi Tuna Burger

Ahi Tuna Burger

The Original 5 Napkin Burger: Dun! Dun! Dun! I had a taste of the “5 Napkin sauce,” pretty good. My friend told me it was drier than she liked, despite asking for medium rare.

5NB - Original 5 Napkin Burger

Original 5 Napkin Burger

I didn’t take a picture of it, but they also have these pricey milk shakes. It’s actually quite delicious, but I’m sure it’ll clog up your arteries pretty quickly.

This restaurant might be doing well in New York, but it’s got a lot of work to do if it wants to survive in its current location in Boston. 5NB is located under the Pru, one of the busiest malls in central Boston. The food is solid when it’s done the way it is intended to be served and delivered at the right time, but from what I’ve noticed, that doesn’t usually happen. Who is doing the interviews for the waitstaff? I can’t believe that these are NY standards.

On a side note: you might wonder why I came to this place twice after the first crappy experience. I was invited back by the manager for a free meal. I’m not one to turn down free food. I also knew I’d be treated better the second time around, so I gave it a shot. My second waitress was nice, but she seemed pretty new and didn’t really know everything on the menu. That didn’t bother me because she tried to be helpful in any way she can. I still don’t recommend going to this place. If it survives another year or two, maybe pay a visit then, after they work out all the kinks.

– Charmin Bear T

2 responses to “Boston: 5 Napkin Burger

  1. mars says:

    why would you buy sushi at a burger joint??!?

  2. uh coz it was free! i already wrote that at the end of my post!

Leave a Reply

