What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Boston: Union Oyster House

on August 7, 2011

Union Oyster House @ 41 Union Street

Union Oyster House boasts of being the oldest restaurant in all of America.  I’m not sure how true that is, but there’s history written all over the restaurant.  When you walk in, it looks pretty old and crummy, but don’t be fooled, the menu is probably as pricey as a nice restaurant.  There are oyster bars dispersed around the place, and that’s where it usually is most packed.  No one cares to sit at the very normal tables and booths.  Tourists! Tch!  We were still full from lunch, so we didn’t eat much here.

The cup of clam chowder was good.  It was creamy and flavorful.  Ingredients were fresh.

Union Oyster House - Clam Chowder

Clam Chowder

They ran out of steamers, so we settled for mussels, which were prepared basque style (steamed with garlic and white wine).  I actually thought that might come out bland since I normally prefer it steamed with a tomato sauce, but it was quite delicious!

Union Oyster House - Mussels

Mussels

I don’t really care if Union Oyster House is the oldest restaurant.  Gimmicks like that don’t work on me.  I do think the food is decent.  I’m not quite sure if I’m willing to pay for their food though.  There are so many other good restaurants in Boston, it probably doesn’t make my list of places to go when I visit.

– Charmin Bear T

Leave a Reply

