What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

New York City: Pizza, Pork Buns & Pastries

on September 6, 2011

Pasty’s Pizzeria @ 67 University Place

This post is dedicated to the 3 P’s. Probably three of my favorite things to eat in NYC.

1st P: PIZZA :)

Patsy's - Prosciutto and Pepperoni Pizza

Patsy's - Prosciutto and Pepperoni Pizza

I was introduced to Patsy’s by Kemal, my ex-bf. Maybe there is even a post about their pizza already. But it doesn’t hurt to show a different photo! I bring most of my friends here if they want delicious pizza and toppings. I think the one topping I can’t live without here is their pepperoni. Super savory and flavorful. I can eat them by itself! This time around, I ordered prosciutto with pepperoni. It comes with fresh basil leaves that compliments the sauce and toppings really nicely. The crust is thin, but can hold its weight of toppings. Edges are slightly burnt from the brick oven. One word: amazing!

Momofuku Ssäm Bar @ 207 2nd Avenue

2nd P: Pork Buns. Since Charmin Bear T and I have tried the pork buns from Ippudo, we wanted to try the pork buns created by David Chang at Momofuku before she leaves the east coast.

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Steamed Pork Buns

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Steamed Pork Buns

The pork buns here were delicious. Chang concocted this recipe with a fluffly steamed bun stuffed with pork belly, hoisin, cucumbers, and scallions. The pork belly to bun ratio is perfect. Two slices of pork belly to one small bun. :)

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Steamed Pork Buns

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Steamed Pork Buns

Compared to Ipuddo’s, we both prefer their Japanese spicy mayo and braised pork belly..even though their buns are bigger. Definitely want to try them both at the same time. This reminds me of the $1 Peking duck sandwich in Flushing.

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Rotisserie Duck Ssäm

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Rotisserie Duck Ssäm

Another delicious dish featuring duck. The chive pancakes, bibb lettuce, hoisin, scallion, crispy shallots, and rice adds individual elements of taste and textures to the plate. Whatever dipping sauce was in that tea cup was delicious. It was tangy, savory and paired well with the duck and rice.

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Spicy Pork Sausage & Rice Cakes

Momofuku Ssäm Bar - Spicy Pork Sausage & Rice Cakes

This dish was spicy! With a mixture of chopped chinese broccoli, sichuan peppercorn, rice cakes, scallions, sausage, and crispy shallots…each bite made me want to try some more. Definitely a must order for something different. It reminds me of ddokbuki, but a drier version.

Hopefully, I can visit all of Momofuku’s restaurants and blog about them! If I’m in the area, I would love to stop by this restaurant again.

Lady M Confections @ 41 East 78th Street (Between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue)

3rd P: Pastries. No matter how full you are, there is always room for a little dessert.

Lady M Cake Boutique - Green Tea Mousse Cake

Lady M Cake Boutique - Green Tea Mousse Cake

Charmin Bear T came to this cake boutique the last time she was in the city. She had wanted to try the green tea mousse cake, but they sold out! This trip around, we ventured to the upper east side early! to get a piece. Lady M describes this cake as a green tea sponge cake layered with green tea mousse; topped with cream and crumb sprinkles. The sponge cake was moist and fluffy. The green tea mousse was delicious, but not too sweet. Not too bad!

Lady M Cake Boutique - Strawberry Mille Feuille

Lady M Cake Boutique - Strawberry Mille Feuille

This cake was absolutely mouthwatering fantastic. I wanted a slice all to myself. Anything with strawberries is a winner to me! This mille feuille is paper thin puff pastry layered with sponge cake, cream custard and strawberries.

Lady M Cake Boutique - Lemon Meringue Cake

Lady M Cake Boutique - Lemon Meringue Cake

I wanted to order something different. I was greedy. Besides a lemon meringue cake, I ordered a strawberry short cake too. Charmin Bear T already blogged about that. I loved it. This lemon sponge cake is layered with sweet tangy lemon curd and made with freshly squeezed lemon. The cake was topped with toasted meringue. There was a freshness and lightness I found pleasing in this cake.

Each of the cakes that we’ve tried already at Lady M’s were top notched in quality. Price though is a little steep. At least 7 dollars a slice. The whole cakes can cost alot too. At least $70 so I can’t afford it all the time :(

Financier Patisserie

The first location of this French pastry shop opened in 2002 in the Financial District on Stone street. Since then, they have opened various locations around Manhattan. If you see one, drop in and try a dessert and coffee. A great friend, Andrew decided to drop by with desserts one night. I was too tired to eat chocolate so I waited until I was hungry to try these delectable treats.

Financier Patisserie

Financier Patisserie

In the box the first thing I saw was an Éclair. It is a puff-shaped tube like pastry filled with cream and glazed with fondant (Chocolate, Coffee, Raspberry or Pistachio). A fan favorite. I enjoy the not so sweet cream combination with the soft chocolate glazed pastry.

The Opera is a coffee buttercream, chocolate ganache and coffee soaked cake with chocolate glaze. Very decadent. Too much chocolate for my personal taste. My roommate loved it though.

The dome-like rhubarb mascarpone pastry was another one of my favorite in the box! It was tangy with creamy mascarpone cheese and hints of rhubarb. It had the least amount of chocolate of them all. So I enjoyed it a lot more.

This post took awhile to blog. Both Charmin Bears have been busy enjoying summertime treats and spending less time in front of the computer. Wait til winter, more blogs to come!

– Charmin Bear J

Leave a Reply

