What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

San Francisco: Summer Road Trips

on September 20, 2011

Kappo Nami Nami @ 240 Castro Street

This nice little Japanese restaurant is actually located outside of SF in Mountain View.  It’s a good 45 minute drive, but well worth it.  Some of the best Asian foods are actually outside the city anyway!

Kappo Nami Nami - Sashimi Salad

Kappo Nami Nami - Sashimi Salad

Fish was fresh, vegetables were fresh, sauce was tasty.

Kappo Nami Nami - Agedashi Tofu

Kappo Nami Nami - Agedashi Tofu

Tofu was soft.  I liked the fried skin.  Soup was gooey and flavorful.

Kappo Nami Nami - Eel Omelette

Kappo Nami Nami - Eel Omelette

Eel was good.  I love mushrooms, especially shiitake mushroom because they soak up a lot of juice.  It’s a very simple but difficult dish to make well.

Kappo Nami Nami - Ankimo

Kappo Nami Nami - Ankimo

Ankimo translates to Monk Fish Liver and is considered a Japanese chinmi (delicacy).  Japanese chinmi are not for the faint of heart.  Liver is pretty tamed actually, considering blowfish ovaries is also a delicacy.  I’m not a huge fan, but some people really like it.  I’ll stick to my duck and goose liver.  Thanks!

Kappo Nami Nami - Toro Nigiri

Kappo Nami Nami - Toro Nigiri

This was my first time eating Toro (fatty tuna) sushi, so it’s hard to really judge it due to my inexperience.  It did melt in my mouth, but I always felt like Tuna, as a sushi, has been pretty bland in taste.  I’ve always preferred Salmon or Yellowtail.

Kappo Nami Nami - Gyu Don

Kappo Nami Nami - Gyu Don

This was a pretty decent dish.  The beef was slightly pink and tender.  The rice was very plump and cooked perfectly.  The sauce was also really savory.

My overall impression of Kappo Nami Nami is that it is a good restaurant, but quite pricey.  I liked the food, but nothing that I became addicted to.  It’s nothing too special that I can’t get in LA, so it’s not going to be one of my “must-stop-at” restaurants.

Yakitori Kokko @ 509 2nd Street

This little restaurant in San Mateo (once again outside SF) is very quaint and filled with friendly servers.  They’re best known for yakitori, obviously.  Although tori generally refers to poultry, the term yakitori has come to mean skewered meat food in general, whether it’s meat, poultry, seafood or vegetables.  They’re quite the popular restaurant and are usually packed.  Advance reservation, especially for the weekends is highly recommended.

Kokko - Fried Garlic

Kokko - Fried Garlic

If you like garlic, you should give this a try.  It’s just cloves of garlic coated in a flaky bread crumb like batter.  It’s pretty heavy though, beware.

Kokko - White Tuna Tataki

Kokko - White Tuna Tataki

This was delicious.  It’s slightly seared on the side and drizzled in a ponzu sauce and sesame.

Kokko - Chicken Karaage

Kokko - Chicken Karaage

This was also pretty good.  It’s lightly seasoned and lightly coasted.  Not as heavy as other restaurants.

Kokko - Beef Cheeks

Kokko - Beef Cheeks

Lightly salted tender beef cheek meat… mmmmmm… delicious.

Kokko - Beef Short Ribs

Kokko - Beef Short Ribs

The meat was tender and juicy.  What can I really say about yakitori anyway?

Kokko - Pork Belly

Kokko - Pork Belly

I actually had asked for beef tongue, but got pork belly instead.  No matter, I love pork belly too.  For most of the yakitori items, you get to choose salted or with sauce.  The sauce is a dark miso that actually came off a bit salty for my taste.

Kokko - Beef Cheek & Scallop

Kokko - Beef Cheek & Scallop

 

I didn’t really care for the scallop.  I actually thought it was a bit overcooked.  I also expected more than one and just the white part of the scallop. :T

Kokko - Chicken Thigh

Kokko - Chicken Thigh

The chicken was really tender. very good meat.

There’s really not much to say about yakitori.  It’s very simple food that’s all about the art of grilling.  Most of the time, it’s just salted, so there’s not much to comment on.  Overall Yakitori Kokko grills the meat just enough for it to be thoroughly cook.  I actually like my yakitori to be a bit more burnt because I like the taste.  The quality of the meat is great though.  They also have these other weird dishes.  We tried something called the Takowasa, which is raw squid mixed in a wasabi sauce.  It was kind of gross, in my opinion.  But for those brave souls out there that like squid, you should give it a try.

I did enjoy my food at both places, but nothing really won my heart.  I’m not head over heels about either, but if you’re in the area and craving Japanese food, give these two places a visit!

– CBT

Leave a Reply

