What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Los Angeles: SushiStop

on September 23, 2011

SushiStop @ 2053 Sawtelle Boulevard 

I’ve found a new love in LA.  It’s not my boyfriend, it’s SushiStop (It’s not an error.  That’s how the restaurant spells its name).  Why am I in love?  Everything at this restaurant is $2.75.  Can you believe that?!  Yeah, they have a limited menu.  They’re not serving up toro or alligator makis, but they have quite a few items on the menu worth trying.  Here’s a list of things of I’ve eaten.

SushiStop - California Roll with Spicy Tuna

SushiStop - California Roll with Spicy Tuna

The name describes it all.  Solid.

SushiStop - Dynamite Roll

SushiStop - Dynamite Roll

A dynamite roll is scallops baked in SushiStop’s special spicy mayo sauce over a california maki.  I can’t get enough of the baked scallop topping :)

SushiStop - Baked Mussels

SushiStop - Baked Mussels

Baked Mussels drenched in the same dynamite sauce.  Delicious, but avoid eating too much of that dynamite sauce.  You might feel a bit sick afterwards since it is quite heavy.

SushiStop - Popcorn Shrimp Roll

SushiStop - Popcorn Shrimp Roll

Spicy mayo, popcorn shrimp on top of a california maki.  Yum!

SushiStop - Aburi Salmon Belly

SushiStop - Aburi Salmon Belly

The salmon is lightly seared, so there is a very nice aromatic caramelized taste to the fish.  Definitely one of my favorites here.

SushiStop - Crispy Rice

SushiStop - Crispy Rice

I thought the Crispy Rice was a bit bland.  It’s grilled sushi rice topped with spicy tuna and avocado.  I guess the taste was suppose to be simple, but I could use a bit more spicy mayo and a little less rice.  I’m also not a fan of fried/grilled rice sushi :\ pass!

SushiStop - Las Vegas Roll

SushiStop - Las Vegas Roll

Eel roll, topped with spicy tuna and fried lotus root chip.  I always eat the lotus root separately :P

SushiStop - Chopped Yellowtail Handroll with Truffle Oil

SushiStop - Chopped Yellowtail Handroll with Truffle Oil

I thought this was okay.  I was quite excited from the sound of truffle oil, but I thought it masked the taste of the fish.  Disappointing.

SushiStop - Green Tea Tiramisu

SushiStop - Green Tea Tiramisu

I really like green tea flavored things, but I thought this was okay.  I could barely taste the green tea flavor, it was a bit too subtle.  The tiramisu itself was also lacking in flavor.  I’ve had better in every aspect.  I’ll stick with sushi.

We’ve tried other items such as the Baked Blue Crab Handroll, which was okay.  I’m not too much of a crab fan.  The Aburi Yellowtail sushi was good, but I prefer the more distinct Salmon taste.  SushiStop is all about value.  For $15 each (tip and tax included), my boyfriend and I always stuff ourselves full.  I don’t know how they afford to sell such decent quality fish for $2.75.  The rice does fall off, but I don’t mind considering what a deal I’m getting here.  I’m definitely going to be a frequent customer  :D

– CBT

2 responses to “Los Angeles: SushiStop

  1. mars says:

    THAT WILL BE ONE OF THE PLACES I WILL GO TO WHENEVER I AM IN LA!!!!!!!!!

  2. I knew you’d like it mars! :)

Leave a Reply

