What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

New York City: Soup Dumplings Battle

on October 12, 2011

9.4
Joe’s Shanghai @ 136-21 37th Avenue, Flushing
I were in the mood for soup dumplings. Since I was in Queens, the only place I knew was the popular Joe’s Shanghai in Flushing. I’ve been to the Chinatown location (9 Pell Street) a few times as well. This restaurant is always bustling. The minute you sit down, not even settled in yet, a server would ask you if you wanted to order any soup dumplings. They gotta crank them out asap! Some find it annoying, but to me, it’s just the way they do business.

Joe's Shanghai - Soup Dumplings

Joe's Shanghai - Soup Dumplings

Honestly, I don’t know why people love this place! It’s such a tourist trap. My take on their soup dumplings: overrated! Maybe they were better when they first opened, but quality has definitely gone down since they’ve expanded. Compared to Shanghai Cafe in Chinatown, they weren’t even plump. They looked like “saggy boobs” to quote my date. Also, skimping out on soup in soup dumplings and bad presentation makes me hesitant on going back! The only good thing about their buns was the flavor of the pork/crab filling.

Joe's Shanghai - Shanghai Fried Rice Cakes

Joe's Shanghai - Shanghai Fried Rice Cakes

The fried rice cakes were delicious, just a bit on the oily side. I always order a plate of these when I come here. The other item on the menu that I’ve also ordered before, but forgot to take a photo was their scallion pancakes. Crispy, oily goodness =X I really can’t expect much more from a Chinese restaurant.

10.8
Shanghai Asian Manor @ 21 Mott St

From a friend’s suggestion, I took my visiting sister and brother to try the soup dumplings here. Place looks decent. Clean and old school Chinese decor. Great attentive service. They would even change your dirty plates in between meals!

Shanghai Asian Manor - Crab and Pork Soup Dumplings

Shanghai Asian Manor - Crab and Pork Soup Dumplings

These crab and pork soup dumplings were scrumptious. Presentation was nice. Soup was tasty and meat was flavorful. Definitely must come back to try these plumpy soup filled buns again.

Shanghai Asian Manor - Shanghai Style Rice Cakes

Shanghai Asian Manor - Shanghai Style Rice Cakes

The rice cakes were also yummy. Good seasoning and I love how they threw in bok choy. Really can’t go wrong with rice cakes, unless you forget the salt/soy sauce. I like how this dish wasn’t too oily.

Shanghai Asian Manor - Sweetened Walnut Prawns

Shanghai Asian Manor - Sweetened Walnut Prawns

I wanted to try these since they visually looked appealing on the menu. However, they fell short. These sweetened walnut prawns had too much condensed milk, but lack the savory aspect. It was runny and the shrimps weren’t coated well. I’ve had better elsewhere.

Shanghai Asian Manor - Young Chow Fried Rice

Shanghai Asian Manor - Young Chow Fried Rice

A common recipe on young chow fried rice. Carrots, peas, scrambled eggs, ham, scallions, and baby shrimp. Nothing really spectacular, but at least they made it with day old rice, because you can taste and feel each grain on your tongue. That’s my favorite part.

All in all, soup dumplings really has been around for awhile. I’ve been addicted to them since I first tried them. There are lots of other soup dumplings out there to try. My favorite will always be Shanghai Cafe. They just do it right every time.

– Charmin Bear J


Leave a Reply

