What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Los Angeles: Sasabune Revisited

Sushi Sasabune @ 12400 Wilshire Avenue

My boyfriend and I came back to Sasabune for some major sushi craving after seeing “Jiro Dreams of Sushi.”  If you’re a sushi lover, I recommend watching that!

We went with a few of our old favorites, such as seared baby tuna.  I didn’t enjoy the fish as much this time.  For some reason it wasn’t as flavorful.

Sasabune - Seared Baby Tuna

Sasabune - Seared Baby Tuna

The Salmon was great. Fresh.  I love the little clear seaweed on top, which I thought helped bring out the taste of the fish.  The sesame seeds were a bit much, but didn’t really bother me.

Sasabune - Salmon

Sasabune - Salmon

Yellowtail is another one of my favorite fishes. Look how nice and shiny the fish is!

Sasabune - Yellowtail

Sasabune - Yellowtail

We decided to try the sweet shrimp.  Not my favorite.  The texture was really gooey and weird.  I’ll pass on Amaebi next time.

Sasabune - Sweet Shrimp

Sasabune - Sweet Shrimp

Sasabune cooks the shrimp head separately.  This was pretty darn good.  It was so crunchy and perfectly seasoned.  Next time, my boyfriend can eat the body and I’ll munch on the head haha.

Sasabune - Sweet Shrimp Head

Sasabune - Sweet Shrimp Head

The green mussels were only about $4.50 per order.  SushiStop is $3 and the quality is much lower.  Shockingly, this is a really good deal here!

Sasabune - Green Mussels

Sasabune - Green Mussels

Mmm.  My favorite. Fatty Tuna.  Sasabune’s quality is definitely one of the best in all of LA.  I’ve order it elsewhere and it doesn’t melt in your mouth like it does here.

Sasabune - Fatty Tuna

Sasabune - Fatty Tuna

My first time ordering the butterfish and it was delish!  It’s cooked and doused in something similar to eel sauce.

Sasabune - Butter Fish

Sasabune - Butter Fish

I normally don’t like Salmon Skin, but it was good here. I liked the crunchy skin a lot.  The tuna was also fresh.  I was pretty full by this point but still ate my fair share.

Sasabune - Salmon Skin & Tuna Roll

Sasabune - Salmon Skin & Tuna Roll

Last but not least, the Eel handroll.  You’ll never find any of my sushi meals missing Eel :)

Sasabune - Eel Roll

Sasabune - Eel Roll

Another solid experience.  It was quite busy this time.  Last time we came there were only a few other tables.  This time, it was packed full and some people were waiting as we left.  Maybe word got out.  At the end of the night, we  thought we over ate a bit, but we couldn’t help ourselves.  Service was excellent.  Definitely a restaurant I’ll visit again and again!

– Charmin Bear T

4 Comments »