What Charmin Bears Love: Food|Dogs|Sephora

Our foodie instincts take over when we're out and about.

Los Angeles: Providence

Providence @ 5955 Melrose Avenue

This week, I chose 2-star Michelin restaurant: Providence.  Needless to say, I was excited.  I’ve only been to Jean-Georges in New York for my 3 star meal, and I thought it was excellent.  My first impressions of the restaurant were the decor, which was so lovely.  I think the theme were calla lilies or flowers that kind of look like that, which porcelain interpretations were all coming out of the walls.  The guy who greeted us did come off a bit snobby in my humble opinion.  He’s either the  maitre d’ or the owner/manager.  I couldn’t tell but he did walk around and ask how people were doing.

The chef started us off with 3 amuse-bouche.  The one shot of soup, I forget what was in it anymore.  Fail :(.  But I can tell you I wish there was more than one shot.  I’ll take 10 shots of those!  It was so yummy.  The little quiche-like thing on the left was forgettable.  I also liked the third amuse bouche on the top right, which was salmon tartar on salmon skin topped with creme fraiche.  Full of flavor and super crispy.

Providence - Amuse Bouches

Providence – Amuse Bouches

For our appetizer, we chose the Maine Lobster.  I actually really like crab and lobster, but hate taking it out of the shell for myself. I dislike using my hands to eat because the smell of your food usually lingers.  I’m really odd.  So I found it lovely that I didn’t have to do it here.  The ingredients were simple and beautiful.  There was a stronger emphasis on the freshness of the lobster.  It was perfectly cooked and not rubbery at all. Nom Nom.

Providence - Maine Lobster

Providence – Maine Lobster

I was told by Yelpers that portions here are small, so I ordered a second appetizer: Foie Gras Ravioli.  This was a super heavy and indulgent dish.  As delicious as it was, I wish there was someone else who loved foie gras as much as me to enjoy it with.

Providence - Foie Gras Ravioli

Providence – Foie Gras Ravioli

The boyfriend got the Chowda as his second appetizer.  He said it was the best chowda he ever had.  The consistency was a bit watery compared to the chowder I’m used to, but the sip I had was infused with flavor.  Having real clams with bacon bits totally helped.

Providence - Chowda

Providence – Chowda

For my main entree, I got the duck.  It was cooked medium rare, the way the chef thinks is best.  I really liked it, but by the time I got to it, I was already so stuffed!  I loved the crispy skin that did not taste at all oily. And the foie gras infused chicken broth sauce.  Yum.  Too bad I didn’t finish it, I tried my best though.

Providence - Liberty Farms Duck Breast

Providence – Liberty Farms Duck Breast

The bf got the steak, which was also pretty darn good.  I’d like to think my duck was better, but he thinks his beef was better.  To each his own!

Providence - New York Steak

Providence – New York Steak

For dessert, they gave us lime macarons, which I surprisingly enjoyed.  I don’t usually like lime flavor things.  The lychee jellies were a tad too sweet for me.  I did not like the lavender caramel.  The lavender was way too strong.

Providence - Dessert

Providence – Dessert

I really liked Providence.  I have to say it’s probably the best meal I’ve had in terms of fine dining.  I thought some dishes at Jean Georges were a bit lackluster, while here it was pretty impressive all around.  Although I enjoyed the service at Jean Georges much more.  It’s unbeatable how they manage to make you feel like you belong even though you’re in an expensive restaurant.  In short, I loved it and will revisit!

– Charmin Bear T

Leave a comment »